Human Resource News

Human Resource News2018-09-25T21:44:04+00:00
From the June/July 2015 issue of The Nugget.

paid-sick-leave July 1 is just around the corner and so is California’s new Paid Sick Leave Law (AB1522). Beginning on July 1, 2015, all employees who work at least 30 days per year in California are eligible for 24 hours of paid sick leave annually (exceptions include folks in the airline industry and some unions). It is important that you communicate your Paid Sick Leave Plan to your employees prior to July 1, and we are here to help! CEA has created sick leave sample policies for you to include in your employee handbook.

Download the Paid Sick Leave Policy Samples:

Paid Sick Leave – Healthy Workplace Healthy Families Act Fact Sheet
Paid Sick Leave – Accrual Method Sample
Paid Sick Leave – Lump Sum Method Sample

Employers can choose any or all of the following three different options for their employees:

Option 1: Accrual Plan
Employees accrue sick leave from the commencement of employment at a rate of one (1) hour for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 48 hours. Exempt employees’ paid sick leave accrual will be based on a 40- hour workweek.

Option 2: Lump Sum Plan
Employees will be eligible for 24 hours of paid sick leave. Thereafter, you will receive an additional 24 hours of paid leave each year.

Option 3: PTO Plan
You may use your own employer paid time off policy as long as it mirrors or exceeds the accrual, carryover and use requirements in AB 1522, or provides employees with at least 24 hours of paid sick leave each year, regardless of the actual accrual rate. Other Notable Facts:

  • Sick leave is to be paid at the employee’s previous 90 days base rate of pay.
  • Sick leave is not hours worked and is not counted in the calculation of overtime.
  • Employees may use sick leave for the diagnosis, care, treatment of, or preventative care for, the employee’s own health condition or that of a qualifying family member.
  • Qualifying family members include: an employee’s child, parent, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild, or sibling.
  • Employees may use paid sick leave if they are a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.
  • Paid sick leave has no cash value upon separation of employment or at any other time.

Thank you to the California Employers Association (an SDDS Vendor Member) for supplying SDDS with information and resources.